jump to navigation

My Funeral Song April 28, 2011

Posted by sarahsfate in My Own Personal Trials, PostADay2011, Thoughts on People.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

So, I am filling out a questionnaire regarding funeral plans for myself (no, I am not dying…well I mean, I am, aren’t we all? But, it is not immediate). I answered all the nice probing questions about where I would like my funeral, would I like to be cremated, what type of casket do I prefer, what outfit would I like to be buried in, etc…and I came upon one question that has stumped me for two days. Two days, people.

It seems like a simple question with an equally simple response but for the life of me, or death, I cannot think of the right song for my funeral. It is my very last hoorah in this world but I am fairly certain it does not deserve the same attention to detail as say…a wedding. Then again, maybe it does…an outfit must be picked out, flowers, location, pamphlets, music. I like rock, hip hop, jazz, a little symphonic opera, not big on country, I like a minute selection of rap (but really, I think rap would be wholly inappropriate), and…well, what? Fifties music? Classical? I’m just not feelin any of that.

I imagine a nice rock song *tilts head to the side as image comes to mind* are we talking Aerosmith? Pantera? Should Pantera croon Cemetary Gates before or after my funeral? Seems a bit harsh and I am certain innocent attendees in perfectly good health would have a stroke.

I imagine a nice country song even though I do not care much for country, it is good to keep an open mind…as such, the song that comes to my mind is Whiskey Lullaby and I find I cannot control the shudder. Love the song. But man. Depressing.

Rap. Well. How about Will Smith, I love him anyway no matter what he sings, er, raps. How about Wild Wild West? No. Okay. Or…Madonna, is there ever a wrong moment to play Madonna? But most of her songs are upbeat and regardless of how people say they want party music at their funeral…I don’t follow that crowd. Not that I want something pitiful…but I don’t want a party at the funeral. Maybe after the funeral.

So after giving much thought to the answer to this question, I ended up turning to an old friend of mine for support. Google. And I found this website Obit:  Funeral Songs which suggests the following are the most popular songs for funerals. (I think there is something wrong with that entire sentence.)

Eric Clapton – Tears in Heaven
Elvis – Amazing Grace
Cat Stevens – Father and Son
Bette Midler – The Rose (one of my all time favorite songs by Bette)
The Beatles – The Long and Winding Road
The Byrds – Turn, Turn, Turn
Mariah Carey – One Sweet Day
Puff Daddy and Faith Hill – I’ll be Missing You
The Indigo Girls – Closer to Fine
Led Zeppelin – Stairway to  Heaven (interesting choice)
Pink Floyd – Wish You Were Here
Simon and Garfunkle – Bridge Over Troubled Waters
Judy Garland – Somewhere Over the Rainbow

There are more. Maybe something by Bach will have to do. Wait–how many Bach songs are there? Maybe Somewhere Over the Rainbow, it has a nice ring to it. And I realize it may be weird that I am 32-years old and trying to pick a musical piece for my funeral but honestly, I am glad the question came up. I would never be able to make this decision on the fly at 80. Now I have about 50 years of straining my ear in an attempt to find the right song. The perfect song. And…failing that, at least more time to come up with an answer.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment