jump to navigation

The Robot Never Dies May 18, 2011

Posted by sarahsfate in My Own Personal Trials, PostADay2011, Thoughts on People.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

This weekend I was dancing with my son to the new J-Lo song. Grayson said I should dance to the girl parts and he would dance to the boy parts. So, I did my best dancing when J-Lo sang and Grayson…well, he did the robot. Being a 6-year old, he should have absolutely no opportunity in which to have witnessed the robot being performed so I’m not at all certain where it came from. He interspersed the stiffened dangling arm movement with variations of old-school break-dancing.

I wish I’d had a video camera on me, it was that great. He smiled and blushed in self-consciousness but I just smiled and told him he was amazing.

But it got me and my ex-husband to discussing the self-consciousness that effects people as they get older, especially when they dance. Sure, no one likes to look like a fool (and understandably because people are jerks). But man to be a kid again with no real concern for how you look…just out there having fun. That’s how I dance, too, when I go out. Who the hell cares how I look? I want to have fun and I’m going to have fun.

I hope I’m not the only one who thinks people are amazing when they dance. Not because they have great moves or because they’re reinventing the robot or break-dancing, but because they think enough of themselves to get out there and dance regardless of anyone else.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

